Moonlight jewellery making

moonlight-1Is there in your language the expression “moonlight farmer”? In Swedish we call it a “månskensbonde”. It refers to someone who runs a farm alongside a regular day job, having only early morning and late evening hours available to take care of the farm.

I did not manage to find any translations, either online translation tools are too limited, or there is simply no such expression in other languages. If anyone can enlighten me here, please step forward! I’m curious to know if this “moonlight concept” exists in other languages as well.

Obviously, I’m not a moonlight farmer myself, but I love the expression, and I do consider myself a moonlight jewellery maker. Projects evolve in small bits and pieces of time.

When I see the full moon, I more often than not stop to watch it for a moment. As if I haven’t seen it before. Well of course I have, many times, but it keeps calling my attention with its silent presence. Doesn’t it seem to be somehow both near and distant at the same time?

You may live in a completely different landscape, region or climate zone than I do, but we share, watch and contemplate the same moon. And so did all our ancestors.

My most moon-like piece is this silver pendant that I made in my first year of the jeweller training (late 90’s). We had not yet learned how to make rounded/spherical shapes, but created volume only with flat surfaces. A moon shape with a few drops of morning dew (the entire “Nordic summer romanticism” is in there, I’d say…).

moonlight-2moonlight-3

I wish all you “moonlight makers” – whatever it is that you make – many moments of creative passion in the coming year.

Catch it. Stay with it. Let it shine.

7 thoughts on “Moonlight jewellery making

  1. In US English, when someone works a part time job at night along with having a full time job they are “moonlighting.” So yes, we use the same term, not just with farmers. In autumn in Iowa during harvest you will see farmers working out in the fields until late at night. It’s surreal, you see tractor headlights out in the middle of the cornfield. Before tractors had headlights, years ago they had to work by the moonlight. That’s why we call the big full moon in September the “harvest moon.”

    • I’d love to see those tractor headlights at night! Iowa was one of the states where Swedish emmigrants settled in the mid 19th century. Crops failed, people were starving, many farm workers left everything behind to start a new life in America. Those pioneers will have worked very hard under the harvest moon.
      And as for us other “moonlighter makers”, it may be a good idea to plan in a “harvest weekend/week” now and then (to allow ourselves to go fanatic). Like the NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo for writers and bloggers in November. I’ll think about that for this year.
      Thanks for your comment, and congratulations to your new website, I love the titanium violets and the cattail earwires!

  2. Hi Gunilla, Thanks for the term ‘Moonlight Jeweller’. I’ve been looking for an apt description for years. While I’m totally committed to making jewellery – it does for practical reasons (I work full-time as a bookseller at a wonderful independent bookshop) happen at the edges of the day/night/ weekends etc – so I now I can say I’m a Moonlight Jeweller! To date I’ve been using the term duel life but I think this sounds so much more fun. – Stella
    ps. harvest weeks are great – I’ve got a week ahead of me of just making – the last preparations for an exhibition – so a few days off work and head down in the studio.

    • Hi Stella, I’m so glad that this could be of inspiration to you! How fortunate to be able to spend your time both with books and with jewellery, it sounds like a great mix. Enjoy your harvest week! I hope we’ll have the chance to catch a glimpse of some of the fruit, later (?).

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

