My copper garden

After some titanium time, I am now picking up the copper roses again.

I find myself in a kind of “kill your darling” situation here. I have grown so fond of these copper roses, especially when they are grouped together. It feels difficult to split them up, drill holes in them and thread them on wire for earrings and pendants (which is my plan, or was…).

As part of the “goodbye” process, I wanted to make some photos first.

gr-coppergarden-11gr-coppergarden-7gr-coppergarden-10

I then came to think of some advice I came across in gardening books: “To get a natural look when you put bulbs in your lawn, just throw the bulbs into the area where you want them and plant them where they land.”

“Oh really…?”, I think to myself (a tiny bit sceptical). But then, who am I to say?

Firstly, our garden is so tiny, so if I start throwing bulbs around, some will bounce on the wall of our shed and then line up in a completely not natural pattern. Secondly, I always miss the right time of year to do all these things.

Well, here was my chance to try this throw-your-bulbs-theory. I simply threw these copper roses onto a big sheet of white paper.

gr-coppergarden-5gr-coppergarden-8

Below you see four numbered photos. On one of the photos, I have placed the roses by hand on the paper in a way that I thought looked “natural”. On the three others, I threw the roses onto the paper.

gr-coppergarden-1gr-coppergarden-2gr-coppergarden-3gr-coppergarden-4

Is there a visible difference here? What’s your guess? Where did I place the roses by hand?

And what am I trying to prove here, anyway? Nothing, really. It’s just part of my “kill your darling” process, for fun, and I’m just curious.

A final word, for clarity: Yes, I do know that roses do not grow from bulbs.

UPDATE 17 March:

First of all THANK YOU to everyone who had a guess here! As we could see, there was not really any clear difference. Having said that, I would still be curious to know how this works in a real garden. If anyone out there tried this with real bulbs, do let me know about the results!

I published this post with the feeling that I would not be able to make any jewellery out of these roses. I loved them too much as photo objects, and felt that some of their “magic” would go lost in the earrings and pendants I was planning.

The interesting thing is that writing the blog post actually helped me realise what my concern was. It seems I need to keep them “grouped together”, and not split them up. As if their magic has a lot to do with them being together. So that will be my new focus, I’ll see how it goes.

19 thoughts on “My copper garden

      • Thanks for coming back to me … I like “guess games” like that – one of my blogging friends she asked us to count the birds in her photo – she had 19 birds in one tree – I gueesed 17.

  1. initially I wanted to say no 4, but no 3 hasn’t been suggested yet, so let’s say no 3 :). Actually I can’t see the difference 😛

    • Thank you for guessing, and congratulations: it IS indeed number 3! But I have to say, if I had mislaid my note with the answer, AND forgotten the number, I would have been in trouble. I see no difference either, but it was a fun little thing to do.

  2. Thanks for guessing! You were close, today I’m revealing that it was: number 3! If I hadn’t known, I think I would have guessed number 2 as well, but yes, they are all very similar. Nothing proved, but it seems this photo game did help me somehow, now I have a better sense of how to go further with the roses. Again, thanks for your input!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

