Buttons

atoz-B

Day B in the A to Z challenge. Here is my newest find of old buttons, to use for jewellery or perhaps photography.

I immediately saw the potential of making faces on these buttons. I’m even playing with the idea to turn them into characters and have them tell us stories (but I know, one should never reveal ideas the way I do now, so forget I said this). Anyway, the ideas are still on a very early stage, so for now, I just keep that as an option.

gr-atoz-b2gr-atoz-b1

I am also thinking of drilling more holes in them. I’m not sure what they are made of and how the material will react. It might be brittle and easily break into pieces, but the only way to find out is to try it. I will try to cut it with the (jeweller) saw as well.

It would be interesting to have them look less like buttons. As you see, the white material is half transparent and something interesting happens there when the light gets to shine through. If that turns out to be an effect to play with, I will probably focus on them as photo objects, and not for jewellery. I have put Vintage buttons on stage before.

What do you think, would it be a strange (or bad) thing to drill and saw in these buttons?

7 thoughts on “Buttons

  1. The textured part looks like a musical scale. I wonder if you could use them in that context? Turn them into a little choir?

    Seeing the potential in something–that’s a gift. Very cool that you’re making the most of it!

    Best,
    Joe

    • Yes, I do have enough to just test it on a few. My doubts are more if they can get any better than they already are, but I’ll find out (probably sometime after letter Z!)

  2. Wow … they are beautiful … great photos – both of them. I love buttons .. here is a shop in Gothenburg by name Knapp Karlsson .. they have millions of buttons .. it’s like candy store to me. Good luck with the challenge. Great start.

    • Would love to explore that shop! Preferably on my own, with lot of time to sniff around. Do they have old buttons as well? Thanks for this tip – and you too, good luck, I can’t wait to see what comes next on your blog!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

