Keys

atoz-K Day K in the Blogging from A to Z challenge. K as in Keys.

At the end of last year, we finished the attic room, which is now my studio.

It felt like getting access to a new kingdom (or queendom). This would be my own space, the place to put any work or household affairs aside momentarily and just… rule, among my tools and metal sheets and shiny wires.

While unpacking some boxes, I came across this lock. I once bought it in a second hand shop.

atoz-k1Keys are so symbolic. The ruler holds the keys of a city. Someone finds the keys to your heart (or perhaps not). In Dutch, a keyring is called a “sleutelbos”,  which translates as “bouquet of keys”. “Key issues” are the most important ones.

Key is simply… key. And how about this quote,  by Sarah Dessen (from her book Lock and Key):

“It’s a lot easier to be lost than found. It’s the reason we’re always searching and rarely discovered – so many locks not enough keys.”

Keys are not evenly distributed, not among us, and not over our lifetime. Some people seem to carry lots of keys to all kinds of spaces (like flourishing bouquets of opportunities). Others find themselves facing only closed doors, without one single key at hand. Many of us get to know both situations throughout life. In an ideal world, there would not be more keys, but fewer locks (and read into this what you want, from education and healthcare to copyright issues and press freedom, down to the personal need of some moments now and then just for yourself).

As it happens, this particular old lock was used by someone for the attic (“vind” in Swedish). Now, that is a coincidence! At the time I bought it, I didn’t know that this would literally be the key that I was looking for at this very moment: the symbolic access to my own attic space.

I have said what I wanted to say about keys today. Now I invite you to read this blog post K is for Keystone by Amanda Trought, another A to Z participant. I like it very much and it shows how you can be a key too!

7 thoughts on “Keys

  1. Key, what a nightmare .. can never found them when I want them in a rush .. have key for my home and for mums .. always have to check where they are.
    Have more key and locks .. in my box – most keys are to bags and suitcases, but I can never match them .. or very seldom, but still I don’t through them out.
    Key is something symbolic – if we have a key … we have the answer, maybe .. and it’s better to have more key then locks through our life.
    Or is it a woman thing .. doesn’t matter …. love you post. Brilliant.

  2. Beautiful! My protagonist in my novel wears a key around her neck. I got goosebumps when I read that quote thinking how it related to my story. Then I realised I actually have this book on my bookshelf but never read it! Perhaps I should!! x

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

