What comes after A to Z?

IMG_9581 IMG_9579 IMG_9584

After a week of rest, it is slowly sinking in: I actually did a whole year worth of blogging in one month (given my regular rythm is a few posts/month).

Still, I do want to come back to how I ended my last post: When you see a Z, can you be sure it’s the last letter of the alphabet?

It depends. In the Swedish alphabet, you still have three more letters to go after Z: å-ä-ö (Danish and Norwegian have them too, but the two last ones written æ and ø). They count as letters of their own (good to know if you need to find them in a dictionary).

Å-ä-ö are unbearable in Swedish. You can not even do the simplest silversmithing without them. See here some key techniques and materials that you would probably encounter even in your very first weekend workshop:

såga – to saw
silverplåt – silver sheet
silvertråd – silver wire
smärgla – to polish (with emery paper)
löda – to solder
glödga – to anneal

A to Z is over, and now also Å, Ä and Ö. Mission completed. Again, thank you all for reading and commenting, and a special thank you for the awards, that I will now start passing on. I look forward to be blogging at a slower pace again.

When I started the A to Z, I knew I had to Abandon studio time in April. Now, whenever I have a free moment, I’ll be back there again, to såga, smärgla and löda.

14 thoughts on “What comes after A to Z?

    • Je t’en prie, Henrietta! I’m afraid I forgot long ago how to write sounds phonetically, but let me share a memory from my jeweller training, which I did in French: A fellow student turns to me and says “‘why don’t you do that with a ‘fraise’, that’s easier”. My brain thinks “fraise = strawberry” and I get very confused, but after a moment I realise that “fraise” also means a “bur”. I then slowly make the connection that Swedish must have borrowed the word from French, as we call it “fräs” (sounds similar to the French fraise). Long story here, but I just love this language mish-mash!

  1. Taking on a commitment like an A-Z blogging topic is quite the challenge. I can’t tell you how much I enjoyed reading all your posts, Gunilla, and the fresh perspectives that you brought everyday in your writing! It is a great trade-off, I feel, this blogging that often takes us away from the jeweler’s bench; but meeting other lovely bloggers such as yourself and communicating w/other artists is equally important I feel. Congrats to you on finishing A-Z!

    • Thank you so much! I’m really glad to hear that you enjoyed reading, just as I enjoyed writing. Challenges like this are a great way to push yourself, and just as much as I love to (and have to!) catch up on other things now, I look forward to joining next year again, I find myself already playing with some ideas. Perhaps you will join too, that would be great! Well, no need to decide now obviously… 😉

  2. lovely swedish words to gurgle over Lol
    Well done G and enjoy your creative time back in the studio again some more …

  3. Consigning yourself to the A to Z Challenge is somewhat more than challenging. Having struggled through it myself as a first time blogger gave me a sincere appreciation for the degree of dedication required — nay, demanded — of anyone serious about reaching the finish line.

    Like you, it’s been a week or two for me since the challenge ended and I’m still trying to reconnect all my creative synapses. I absolutely applaud your talent and tenacity. This was a delightful coda to the last 26 posts and very appropriate. I never knew about the Norwegian/Swedish alphabet. Fascinating.

    And thank you especially for all of your very kind and thoughtful comments on my blog. Yours is the very brand of encouragement that keeps me going. Now that I’ve made it through, I’ve started a weekly column. Thanks so much for your delightful posts and generous support. Cheers.

    • Thank you so much, your comment means a lot to me! So, let’s be proud that we made it to the end here, as first timers! I have enjoyed your own A to Z immensely, and am so happy to know that you will continue now with a weekly column. I will certainly follow it closely, and also make sure I haven’t missed any of your A to Z posts (lots of catching up to do in May and onwards).

  4. Yours is the first jewelry A to Z challenge blog I’ve run across! You are a talented artisan and I am BLOWN AWAY by how many languages you speak. Your talent runs wide and deep.

    • Thank you Kim, I’m blushing over here! Let’s see if there are more jewellers onboard for the A to Z next year, I will for sure join again. In the meantime, I’ll nourish my talents, as we all should – keep nourishing yours too!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

