Daily bread

Last year I worked on a piece with round discs in titanium and silver. I planned to put them on a silver wire as center piece in a necklace, with matching earrings. This is how I often use titanium, assembling cut pieces, side by side.

This particular idea made me think of how the round pieces of “knäckebröd” (Swedish crisp bread) were dried and stored in the past: hanging under the ceiling. That’s why the traditional round pieces of knäckebröd have a hole in the middle (if you ever came across this bread and ever wondered). Here is a recipe from an illustrated cooking blog, if you want to bake Swedish crisp bread yourself.

titanium_speaks-2titanium_speaks-3

gr-dailybread-0gr-dailybread-13

As I picked up on this necklace again, I changed it. I chose to thread the discs on a silk cord instead, with a knot between. Like on a traditional bead necklace.

I like that much better – what do you think? I find it less compact. Instead of a chunk of glimmering colours in the middle and then those lonely strings of silver, there is more of a play and movement in it all.

gr-dailybread-12gr-dailybread-9gr-dailybread-16gr-dailybread-15

Now I’ll be wearing it for a while as a prototype. I especially want to see what happens with the cord. Titanium is a light metal, but I expect the weight of the whole to wear on it, sooner or later (and this cord is pretty thin). I also want to find out what happens if I gently wash it in (not too) warm water.

This is not the eyecatcher or the conversation starter, it is actually so simple that it might just as well go unnoticed. Not spectacular or innovative, but let me tell you one thing… it feels very comfortable to wear. This has potential to become that favourite everyday piece, I sense. Like a favourite sweater.

And to go back to the idea of the knäckebröd, I still see something of my “daily bread” in this necklace. Pieces of knäckebröd on a string.

What do you see here? What does this make you think of?

This idea is very simple. I hope this can inspire you to discover other things and shapes for a simple necklace – what would you like to use?

18 thoughts on “Daily bread

    • Thank you! I have to admit that I love it too (if I may say so myself). I’m so glad I put this aside last year, I guess I just felt that I was not on the right track yet, and it needed some more time to take shape.

      • Sometimes a piece does not come together so easily and the feeling is you want to finish it and be done, and yet patience is what it needs – as time passes I feel more and more that knowing when to stop or when not to force something is really important. This piece proves that! Thanks for showing it and telling about its creation.

  1. I love this piece. If you want to make another, I’d be happy to model it for you here in Alabama! Also, I really respect your willingness to and interest in re-working something that isn’t working quite right at first. All the parts and pieces that go into making good jewelry must “add up” and sometimes we have to admit they might not. In that case, go ahead and try another approach. In some ways Claudia and I are saying the same thing.

    • Wow, this inspires me to continue and do more of those. I’ll play with this format, there can be lots of different variations on this one. So in this case I did well in listening to my “inner critic” (or perhaps I should call change her job title to “art director”?), and just put it away for a few months and then see it with new eyes. Thank you so much for your encouraging comment, I really appreciate it!

  2. Just lovely. I like the shininess of it in the close-up photo above (the blue especially). You say it’s simple and not a conversation starter … there is so much beauty in simplicity.
    Thanks for sharing your talent.

  3. As a glass bead maker I also find that how you “present” the work via stringing is so important for both aesthetic and wearable/comfort reasons. I usually like to string with leather or some kind of cord and utilise knots to separate the beads which are in fact little sculptures by themselves. Your work on this post brings back such good memories of my visits to Sweden (last in Nov ’12) and the excellent range of breads in Scandinavia! Helene

    • I just browsed your blog and am amazed by your glass beads, very beautiful! I understand you have a lot more experience with stringing, for me it is something new, that I’m curious to explore more. Leather sounds like a nice material to use (if the cord is thin enough).
      So you were in Sweden more recently than I was (August last year)! Nice to hear you have good memories from there. We will go again within a few weeks, I can hardly wait…
      I’m very grateful for your visit and comment, welcome back anytime.

  4. This piece looks great. I love how you’re keeping with the irregularity of the circular shapes – the “organic-ness” of these cut circles really makes the gorgeous colors of the titanium shine through. Can’t wait to see what more you make!

    • Yes, in this case it’s a “positive flaw”, because titanium is so hard to cut, the circles come out irregular (and I just leave them as is). I’ll definitely do more things around this idea, and also want explore cord making further. Thanks for your enthousiastic comment!

  5. Pingback: They have the nerve… | galeriaredelius

    • I take it as a compliment that you like it without knowing why! That’s the intriguing thing with simple designs, they sometimes have that “power”. Thank you so much for your comment, it made me very happy!

  6. Pingback: A new bracelet | galeriaredelius

  7. The Daily Bread version of your necklace is quite appealing, but I have to say that I also really really like the chunky look of the beads smushed together. Maybe you could combine the two???

    • So nice to hear you say so, Linda! I did make a pair of earrings with the discs close together, chunky look, but something hold me back… Perhaps I need to open up, be less narrow or “critical”…? Thanks for your input, it means a lot, as always!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

