This thing

How nice, the way the ribbon goes round and round. It never ends, this thing, and inside – is that real rainbow bling?

gr-slingor-7

That one little detail on this thing. A copper sweet, a chocolate connection, a birthday bonbon?

gr-slingor-8

Put me in the finest square of your town. Let people walk through me, children climb me, lovers lend on me, photographers crawl down on their knees for me in the golden hour. I want to stand tall. Sit down by me with your guitar, sing a song, have a good time, spill some wine. Make your vows and have your fights by my side. Don’t pass by without saying hi, and as night comes, I’ll guard your stories, where I stand tall.

IMG_4805-d

But do you know what the best is, the best thing with this thing? It is that you can wear it as a ring.

gr-slingor-9

I’m sure you all understood that anyway, but I wanted to show how things are just what they are, until size determines what you do with them.

These ribbon rings are made of titanium with a copper connection. A simple idea, here are my versions (two different ones on the photos, the broader one made of two ribbons). The titanium is oxidised, and shows off the most when posing for the camera, as you can see.

gr-slingor-13gr-slingor-6gr-slingor-14gr-slingor-12gr-slingor-11

Do you know of a piece of jewellery that you would like to see as a sculpture on bigger scale? If so, how big would you want it and where would you like to put it?
8 thoughts on “This thing

    • I have always felt that jewellery is very much like sculptures. It was just an experiment to make a photo with the ring so near the margin. As photo it was odd, but it brought me the idea of a town square.

  1. I too think of jewelry as wearable sculpture and think that this ring would work well as a giant installation. Most things do have an ideal scale beyond which they may be eye-catching but odd.
    Getting the scale right is an art in itself. This ring is full of symbolism and the hidden colour adds that extra touch of mystery. A personal secret, a gift to self!

  2. Absolutely stunning! I love the image with the ring in the ‘town square’…I had to share it on Pinterest.

  3. Pingback: 2014 – The jeweller’s cut | galeriaredelius

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

