Victoria & Albert

VV for the Victoria & Albert Museum, in the Blogging from A to Z challenge.

I’m focusing on online jewellery collections this April, and the Victoria & Albert Museum (London) has a lot to offer if you are interested in jewellery.

Just click the link to the V&A Jewellery page to find articles, highlights, videos and of course also a link to the overall online museum collection, if you want to browse it.

There is also a V&A Metalwork page, if you are interested in bigger metal objects.

I like it how this museum has created thematic pages around their collections.

I’m running short of time. To tell you the truth, I just lost time browsing the collection… Looking for diamond, I came across these designs for jewellery by Arnold Lulls, (probably) a Dutch jewellery maker and dealer who went to England (late 16th/early 17th century). I search for diamonds and in the end it is the raspberry colour that gets my attention. That says something about my love for raspberries. I also love to read the detailed description about the drawings and the book itself, a 400 year old sketchbook.

If you find a piece that you like and want to share, feel free to add a link to it in a comment!

7 thoughts on “Victoria & Albert

  1. The Victoria & Albert Metalworks page is awesome! Beautiful metal work. Thanks for including that in your post. Was fascinating.

    • I’m glad you like it! The good thing with collections online is that you can easily go back to review your favourites, whenever you like, or discover more. Thanks for coming by!

  2. Pingback: Words | galeriaredelius

  3. I LOVE the V&A .. six miles of corridors .. and don’t you know it after exploring the museum . Endlessly fascinating . Great reminder G .

    • Yes, you’re right, they probably would. Perhaps I’m being overly obedient and careful with these things. 😉 It really seems like an amazing museum to explore, have never been myself, but already online it’s a treasure!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

