Empowered

For a long time now, I have nourished the idea to make jewellery inspired by power lines. The more I look at the elegant steel structures, the more I see in them. The variety of shapes. The glass discs. The patterns that change depending on the angle you see them from. The sky and the light around them. The way they walk the landscape.

When this hype started, I referred to it as my “power line nerd week” (you can read about it here). Truth is that by now, I’ve been a power line nerd for two years. Now, I’m trying to kick off the photo making and move on to the metal making.

I have enough photo material to pull inspiration from. It’s time I check my supply of silver wire. Have found some glass beads too, not disc shaped but with the right colours.

I’m curious to see what happens. Perhaps I’ll find that nothing – not even jewellery – can beat the real thing? Perhaps I’ll find that the beads make them look like Christmas trees? Perhaps the solder work will drive me crazy?

There is only one way to find out: to start playing.

What do power lines mean to you?

16 thoughts on “Empowered

  1. How lovely to hear of your inspiration here G …
    I’ve no doubt you are going to come up with something quite special . Those connectors for want of a better description are rather fascinating ..
    I’m reminded of childhood days of putting a button on some strong thread and whizzing it round and round to make it whirrr ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think I know what you mean, have seen it but never done it myself. For these discs perhaps we’d need to take a rope, and hold one end each. Let’s imaginary try to do that together, would be fun!

  2. I love this idea. I like the clean and crisp lines of the power lines well defined on the sky.Together the different lines convey interesting forms. The round shapes are quite intriguing as well.

    • I’m glad you like the idea. It’s true that there are many different forms to find, ever changing patterns, similar but still different. I still have not got tired of watching them!

  3. Pingback: Back from the brink | Stella Chrysostomou - Jeweller

  4. I share your attraction to power lines! What a great inspiration for jewelry. I look forward to seeing lots of interesting, exciting pieces emerge from this idea!
    Kathryn

    • I have some ideas in my head, finding the time to try them out is a bit of an issue at the moment, but I’m not too worried. Your enthousiasm is inspiring, it’s good to know there are other power line fans out there as well!

  5. I love seeing the photos with the beads and wire, ready to be played with. I like the disks a lot, though I admit I haven’t looked at them before. So thank you! And the way they contrast with the lines and steel…

  6. I completely agree on the attraction of power-lines and the giant structures carrying them. They frame the landscape; walking their own mysterious paths seemingly independent of any natural formations or roads. In their vicinity you can sometimes catch their low humming song… ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Yes, I’ve heard that sound – “humming song” is a good name, and such a poetic one, you nailed it beautifully there! I have mixed feelings about that sound, it also makes me remember there are people who claim health problems due to electricity, perhaps deep down I’m not sure it’s safe to go near? On the other hand, with a camera in hand, I’m not the one to resist the opportunity. ๐Ÿ˜‰

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

