Tina, this is for you

IMG_2970

 

This sunflower is a tribute to Tina Downey of Life is Good. She passed away on 23 August.

I first “met” her in April, she was one of the hosts of the Blogging from A to Z challenge. I only had a few exchanges with her, but that was enough for me to understand she was a special person.

In one of her last blog posts, she was worried about not being able to post regularly due to health problems. Worried she would be forgotten.

Tina, you will never be forgotten.

My thoughts are with your family.

Tina was born in Sweden, like myself. The Swedish word for sunflower is “sun-rose” (solros). Of course a completely incorrect name for a flower that is not a rose, but I think a perfect name for Tina, a sun and rose in the blogging world.

If you want to pay her a tribute, you can join here (list closes midnight 8 September, US Eastern standard time).

25 thoughts on “Tina, this is for you

    • Thank you so much for sharing your post about “solrosbarna”! I remember when our daughter was born, among the flower bouquets we received, the one that touched me the most was the simple bunch of sunflowers.
      It seems we have a thing with yellow flowers btw, another connection is “maskrosbarn” (“dandelion children”), which means survivors, children who are able to florish in the poorest circumstances.
      Again, thank you for your comment Kathryn. Life is Good.

    • Whether she was worried people would forget “her” or “her blog”, I’m not sure, but that’s the same, to me. She was a very recent blog acquaintance to me, I think I will go back to her blog now and then to get to know her more. Would be magic if she knew we keep reading, wouldn’t it?
      Thank you for reading and leaving such a heartfelt comment!

  1. How beautiful! I didn’t know you, like Tina, were born in Sweden. She was a lovely person, and how wild that she thought she’d be forgotten if not blogging a while. With that big of a personality, she’d never be forgotten.

    • I see very well what you mean. I discovered her blog only this spring and we had very little contact, still I feel her presence, also through those of you who were closer to her. As I have taken part in this tribute, her legacy is growing also inside me, in a kind of mantra: a sunflower that tells me that Life is Good.

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

