Naked and tarnished

A ring that I found in a box with old unfinished projects. My idea back then was somehow lace inspired, but I did not manage to materialise it. I probably did not approach the soldering well enough. Now I’ve started wearing it as it is, naked and tarnished. It’s a very comfortable ring.

I can go in all kinds of directions from here.

Am thinking copper wire for a birds nest. Am thinking fabric or fine crochet lace as a big collar. Am thinking copper or brass around its waist/middle. Am thinking thin metal wire or silk yarn wrapped around it. Am thinking a pattern made with the saw and then oxidation to play with dark and light. Am thinking a bigger globe loosely around it. Did I mention leather?

Am thinking a lot, but wearing it naked and tarnished is enough for now, really.

What do you think, would “dressing it up” add any value to it?

10 thoughts on “Naked and tarnished

    • Oh, that would be so nice, to have different elements that you could change. It would become my jewellery puppet to play with, to dress differently for different occasions!

  1. i love it how it is…kind of Zen! copper wire would be an interesting combination to play with, though…

  2. I like that you’ve left it all exposed and tarnished as you wear it. I find that I can’t bring myself to ‘spiffy-up’ older work, say from my school days, either. That tarnish shows a history I just can’t bring myself to remove. I do know though that others (who aren’t jewelers) probably won’t understand our way of thinking! But I like the lace-looking piercing that fits over top the round ball. Would be cool to see maybe more pierced patterns that you deliberately oxidize as a changeout to suit your mood? But it’s not needed – it is a great ring just as-is. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s funny how I had left this ring behind me completely (I made it > 10 years ago). And now, it was the comfort that persuaded me, it fits so well! Some of the older pieces I just don’t connect to anymore, so it’s nice when it happens!
      Well, about this one, I’ll soon share another update, with an unexpected twist…

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

