Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

If you live in The Netherlands and don’t own a bike, people will think there is something wrong with you. You’ll see face expressions and hear intonations that make you understand you need to deliver an explanation of some sort. I know, because I went through this before I eventually got myself a bike.

I like my bike, but it’s not essential in my daily life. For a lot of people here it is, though. And a lot of people also experience to get their bike stolen, at some point.

So here’s a post to honor and support all the broken bikers’ hearts when this happens. This is all that’s left after a recent bike crime: a piece of the lock. It had to face heavy destruction tools and found itself defenseless in the middle of the night. And the bike was gone.

This brave piece is not mine, but I had the chance to take some photos of it, in different day lights. (For a closer look, click on an image to get the gallery view.)

Here is the same set of photos in black and white. I thought it was interesting to compare them, as the originals are so pale they almost come across as b/w at first sight.

It was the mini-monumental shape of this piece that made me tick, but also this: Look at the surface where the steel was brutally cut. This is the kind of surface I sometimes make use of in my titanium pieces (here a necklace). I love that raw, cut surface in metal. Can I just call it brutally beautiful? Can I?

gr-bikelock-14

This is part of the The Daily Post Photo Challenge. Explore all the other interpretations of Broken here.

Feel free to share your thoughts on bikes, locks, brutal beauty or anything else that comes to your mind! Or why not join the challenge and show what “broken” means to you?

Finally, my big THANKS to the owner of this piece, for making this post possible!

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Broken

  1. I love the colours of the titanium! Bikes are being stolen all the time, anyway, it’s a fact of life, so why not get something positive out of it. But I guess only an artistic eye can see the beauty of the cut metal of the broken lock.

  2. Brutally beautiful, that raw metal surface – yes, for sure. And the scale, yes it could be a huge sculpture. I wish everyone who gets furious when their bike is stolen could see this post.

  3. Pingback: Broken | My Own Champion

  4. Pingback: A broken collection | galeriaredelius

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

