When life gives you lemons

“When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.”

We had some lemons delivered on the home front mid June, when my husband was unexpectedly hospitalised. Luckily he came back home after a few days and we are now re-calibrating our nerves, minds and souls, on our way back to a more regular life again.

I felt like a balloon that went empty, all of a sudden. Like very empty. But then there was this: The most wonderful colleagues who sent me a package of goodies.

I wasn’t ready yet to make lemonade, but you don’t have to ask me twice to grab the camera for a jewellery/metal shoot. I just wonder, how did they know this was exactly what I needed? Copper chocolate to bridge the first few weeks, and pearl chocolate to help me not going nuts.

This is my heartfelt thank you to you, my colleagues – know that I appreciate your sweet gesture very much!

We all get our rough times to go through, don’t we? Internet is full of suggestions of what else to do when you get lemons, like “When life gives you lemons, make orange juice and leave the world wondering how you did it”.

I fell for this one: “If life hands you lemons, throw them back and yell “I WANTED CHOCOLATE!”” (Unknown)

As you can see, it kind of works!

And you, what do you do when life gives you lemons? Is your camera involved? Chocolate? Perhaps you sit down to make some jewellery? Or do you happen to have the recipe of a real, nice lemonade, of whatever fruit?

17 thoughts on “When life gives you lemons

  1. I have a husband who is battling for survival on a daily basis. He does not have a pituitary gland which leads to Addisonian Crisis. Doctor told him he only had 20 yrs left but he has already surpass those years. Not knowing when will be that day, we make sure that we make each other happy every single day and do things together as much as possible. If that day ever comes, we have no regrets and it will all be a happy memories. I am trying to say Everyday is a CHOCOLATE day 🙂 ! I am relieved that your husband is feeling better and that you both are on your way back to a more regular life again….. 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing your story. I understand lemons have become your daily diet. Truly humbling to read how you deal with it and I gladly receive your life advice, which I think we can all learn from! My husband has been on a medical journey with ups and downs for almost five years now, relating to a tumor (in itself benign, but on a location that could be life threatening if not treated). Treatments were successful and we felt that we finally had come out of the tunnel, so this was a set-back (probably not relating to the tumor).
      I’ll follow your way, and do my best to make everyday a chocolate day. Again thanks, you and your husband sound like amazing people, I wish you all the best, take good care!

  2. I like that way to express it – make every day a chocolate day – better than that lemonade thing – I do like chocolate so much better. Glad your husband is returning to health.

  3. I am relieved to hear that you both came through this latest event!
    I’m glad there was chocolate at the end of the tunnel!
    It’s an art how you are able to write and post about the personal along with the artistic. It inspires affection for being human. It inspires appreciation of life itself as a creative endeavor and way of seeing.
    Looking at cocoa beans, it’s a wonder anyone ever figured out how to make chocolate from it!

    Tender wishes to you, your husband (and all those you both hold dear).

    • Thank you soooo much for your kind and encouraging words, they do mean a lot to me! I am happy to confirm that we are still doing fine over here, enjoying the summer season.
      Oh, you said something there, it would be great to be able to hunt down that moment in history when chocolate was first made, perhaps have a bite. If I find that button on the time machine, I will let you know!
      Again, thanks!

  4. A lovely mix with the chocolates and pearls.
    A couple of years ago, my husband had cancer and it was a 50/50 thing. We spent a lot of time either reassuring ourselves or saying good-bye. He is 100% good now, but it shakes you both right to your foundation, makes you question, makes you think…and reaffirms so much you hadn’t really thought about for quite a while. I am so happy to hear that your husband is better and that you are “recalibrating your lives.”
    I smile for you both.

    • And I smile right back for you both! I am releived that for us, it was never a 50-50 scenario, the ultimate threat was only there in the background as the very, very worst case scenario (more like an irritating fly than a loud drumroll, if you see what I mean).
      Thank you so much for sharing your story, and again, I keep smiling for you both! I hope you will have some really nice chocolate the coming days!

  5. Love the chocolate quotes. They are so true.

    You are a very brave woman, who works incredibly hard for her family. I hope you took a moment to enjoy the taste of the chocolate, after it posed so nicely with the beautiful pieces of art you created.
    I truly wish lemon season is over for a while.

    • Not much bravery over here, but it’s a flattering thought, so I’ll just accept it – thank you! The chocolate was beyond words, and more than enough to kill the lemon taste. May chocolate win, always! 🙂

  6. Glad things turned out ok for your husband, & I love your unexpected juxtaposition of jewelry & chocolate – beautiful & clever.

    • Not sure if it’s clever, or just a bit “nerdy”, but never mind, it was fun, and it does bring two passions together, so to speak. Thanks for your comment and for popping by, welcome back here anytime!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

