Copper fever

Last year I played a little with copper. Here is one of the projects.

I unfolded a few of my old copper roses. I wanted to add more patina, so I rubbed on a thin layer of peanut oil and heated with a soft flame. When I did this before I got brownish tones, the purple here was a nice surprise!

The sheets are thin and copper is malleable, so when I made the rings it was almost like working with sturdy paper.

I like how the rings came out, but they are more experiment and eye candy than wearable rings, for a number of reasons:

  • they easily come loose
  • the patina will wear off
  • it’s advised not to wear copper directly on your skin – I still need to learn more about this though, as I come across contradictory information!

Another copper project was some unexpected up-cycling. I found a piece of cable by the sink in my studio, and when I realised it was copper, I challenged myself to use what the electrician had left behind. I removed the plastic coating, and bent the copper wire into a ring.

Again, I did the peanut oil patina. Despite the wonderful range of colours, I think that for this particular model it came out a bit “too much circus”. What do you think?

 

 

I want to continue exploring copper as metal, try different patinas, learn how to seal patinas, and find out if it’s true that you shouldn’t wear copper directly on your skin.

If you make and/or wear copper jewellery and have some experiences to share, I’m eager to hear it! 

11 thoughts on “Copper fever

  1. I use Renaissance Wax to seal my copper. It’s a conservation grade soft wax, used by museums, and it gives a soft sheen. It’s quite pricey to buy, but a very little goes a long way, so it’s good value really. I have also used a spray lacquer in the past, but dislike the harsh, shiny finish it gives.

    • Thank you so much for your advice! The Renaissance Wax seems to be what to explore here, as I wouldn’t like a shiny finish. I’m really grateful you share your experiences with this. If you ever have questions about titanium, I’ll be happy to help as best as I can…

  2. Too much circus? I don’t know what you mean, exactly, but I get the idea you are doubtful about that piece, and let me remove that doubt, a little, by saying, I love it.

    I thought copper bracelets were supposed to help with arthritis or something and people wear them, I know, but I don’t know if they are sealed or what.

    I love copper. More. More!

    Also, glad to see your work and you again here.

    • I’m not so doubtful about the piece itself, but about all the colours on it… Seems like an information overload to me, both the shape of the wire, AND all the colours. But perhaps that’s just me?
      Me too, I’ve read that copper is good, that it’s antibacterial and whatever, but on the other hand, I’ve also read that it can be poisonous. Well, I think it’s one of the oldest metals used in civilization, so it can’t be too bad? I’ll read more about it. Feel quite determined to continue with it (alongside with silver and titanium).
      Claudia, it feels so good to be back here again! I’ve missed jewellery making, I’ve missed WP. This year, I’ll catch up! Good to be in touch again!

      • I think it is not overload, I think it is complex and not understood at a first glance, and I really like that. It is a fine line to walk, but I think you have stayed on the side of coherence with complexity, not easy!

  3. The lovely patina colors in your last ring pic are just lovely – I agree w/ Claudia. I would maybe try to seal it w/ a Krylon spray or wax, b/c they are so nice that you should “preserve them in the moment.” Nicely done!! Would love to see more of your copper work!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

