Everyone can see the same moon

“No one has to feel lonely if they can see the moon.”

This is a quote from a seven year old autistic girl. Her thoughts about the moon speak to me, and I think many of us have a close relationship to the moon, in different ways. For example, here are mine:

  • I call myself a moonlight jewellery maker, because my studio work happens randomly around my day job.
  • I am constantly drawn to the circle as a shape. We must have learned about this shape first of all from the moon, or what do you think?
  • I have a number of times – if consciously or not, I don’t know – made a visual connection between some of my pieces and the moon.
  • Seeing the moon gives me a good feeling, always. It was there before the dinosaurs, and obviously, long before we humans started staring at it.

So here’s some moon silver to celebrate the wisdom of that seven year old autistic girl.

She’s one of 150 children and teens from all across the autism spectrum who contribute to a book project, What we love most about life. I’ve supported it, because it feels right for me to do so. Also, I love how the man behind this idea, Chris Bonnello, calls it an anthology of awesome answers. Something tells me that the quote about the moon is only the beginning, and I can’t wait to see the rest.

If you want to support, you can do so up until 6 October.

In the meantime, make sure you take a moment to contemplate life under the moon.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Everyone can see the same moon

  1. Gunilla, your collection of photos and the jewelry themselves are so lovely! I agree w/ you how the circle shapes we use frequently as artists in our work are likely derived from our earliest observations of the moon and its perfect shape. “Circles” is one of the most gorgeous pieces of yours; I’m drawn to how you’ve incorporated the pattern of circles (or what’s often referred to as the moon ‘Swiss cheese’ designs) into a simply stunning silver ring. The soft dap of the concave circle perfectly enhances the patterns of circles on its surface. A beautiful gallery of work here!

    • Thank you Patricia, this makes me so happy to hear! I remember that first I wasn’t all satisfied when I had finished the circles ring, I think this had to do with the proportions (or perhaps my expectations?) but it’s extremely comfortable to wear, and has become a favourite!

If you have any thoughts, please share them!

